Indonesian authorities destroyed 81 fishing vessels confiscated from illegal fishermen, including Filipinos, on Saturday.

A report by The Jakarta Post said that 18 vessels from the Philippines were among those sunk by the maritime Affairs and Fisheries Ministry.

The report said that according Maritime Affairs and Fisheries Minister Susi Pudjiastuti, the 81 vessels were destroyed in 12 locations including in Aceh, Ambon and ternate in Maluku; Bali; Belawan in Medan, North Sumatra; Bitung, North Sulawesi; Merauke, Papua; Natuna and Tarempa in Riau Islands; Pontianak, West Kalimantan; Sorong, West Papua; and Tarakan in North Kalimantan.

The 81 vessels, including 46 from Vietnam, 11 from Malaysia and six Indonesian ships, were seized from illegal fishermen.

The report said that the boats were destroyed with explosives.